Volunteer527x376v3.jpg

Volunteer with Us!

Join our volunteer team today and make a lasting impact in your community.

Love For Sale

The Commercialization of the Counterculture

On April 1st, The Museum at Bethel Woods will open for the 2017 season, featuring a new special exhibit, Love For Sale: The Commercialization of the Counterculture.

This exhibit will examine the commercialization of the Counterculture.  Drawn from the extensive popular culture collection of author and collector Michael Stern, LOVE FOR SALE examines the pervasive influence of the Counterculture on American popular culture and commerce.

Using a 1970 suburban home as a backdrop, the exhibition shows how “peace, love, and free expression” became commonplace in living rooms, dining rooms, and children’s rooms across America and how the Counterculture was trivialized and marginalized in the process. Special sections of the exhibition feature everyday objects and uncommon artifacts of the commercialization of The Beatles, the commercial rise of drug culture, and the retail displays that helped create the hard sell.

A counter-culture of people who rejected consumerism and the conformity of “The Establishment” slowly took root in post-war America. By the early 1960s, Beat authors and folk musicians represented a growing, but still largely underground, movement. It wasn’t until the 1967 “Summer of Love” that the movement fully asserted itself in the public mind, as “hippies” danced, and called for “love, not war.” The Counterculture was now everywhere, and Madison Avenue embraced the slogans, motifs, and attitudes of the movement to sell cars, soft drinks, fashion, and lifestyles to Main Street. What had started as a turning away from consumerism became one of its biggest sales campaigns.

On display through December 31st, the special exhibit is included in the price of admission to the Main Exhibit, or just $5.00 to view it separately.


Join us on Saturday, April 1, 4:00 p.m. for a special WoodsTalk: Live--Fireside Chat with Pop Culture Collector Michael Stern, and Exhibit Curator Jill Silos-Rooney, Ph.D.


Each year, The Museum at Bethel Woods presents new special exhibits that explore the popular culture, politics, art, and social history of the dynamic decade of The Sixties and its legacy.


General support for The Museum at Bethel Woods is provided by a grant from the William and Elaine Kaplan Private Foundation. 

Generous support for the Museum at Bethel Woods also provided by the following sponsors:

Rolling V Bus Corporation JohnstonsSubaru155x75.jpg

Showings

  • Saturday, April 1, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, April 2, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, April 6, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, April 7, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, April 8, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, April 9, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, April 13, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, April 14, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, April 15, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, April 16, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, April 20, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, April 21, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, April 22, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, April 23, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, April 27, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, April 28, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, April 29, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, April 30, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, May 1, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, May 2, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, May 3, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, May 4, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, May 5, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, May 6, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, May 7, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, May 8, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, May 9, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, May 10, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, May 11, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, May 12, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, May 13, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, May 14, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, May 15, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, May 16, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, May 17, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, May 18, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, May 19, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, May 20, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, May 21, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, May 22, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, May 23, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, May 24, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, May 25, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, May 26, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, May 27, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, May 28, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, May 29, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, May 30, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, May 31, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, June 1, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, June 2, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, June 3, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, June 4, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, June 5, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, June 7, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, June 8, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, June 14, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, June 15, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, June 16, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, June 17, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, June 18, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, June 19, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, June 20, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, June 21, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, June 22, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, June 23, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, June 24, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, June 25, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, June 26, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, June 27, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, June 28, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, June 29, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, June 30, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, July 1, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, July 2, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 3, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, July 4, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, July 5, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, July 6, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, July 7, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, July 8, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, July 9, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 10, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, July 11, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, July 12, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, July 13, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, July 14, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, July 15, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, July 16, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 17, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, July 18, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, July 19, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, July 20, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, July 21, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, July 22, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, July 23, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 24, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, July 25, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, July 26, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, July 27, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, July 28, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, July 29, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, July 30, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 31, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 1, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 2, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 3, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 4, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, August 5, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, August 6, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, August 7, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 8, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 9, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 10, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 11, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, August 12, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, August 13, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, August 14, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 15, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 16, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 17, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 18, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, August 19, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, August 20, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, August 21, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 22, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 23, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 24, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 25, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, August 26, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, August 27, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, August 28, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 29, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 30, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 31, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, September 1, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, September 2, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, September 3, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, September 4, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, September 5, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, December 31, 2017   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
View All Showings
  • Apr 1 - Dec 31 , 2017
  • Museum Special Exhibit Gallery
  • Included in Regular Museum Admission
    Special Exhibit Only $5.00

Close