Volunteer527x376v3.jpg

Volunteer with Us!

Join our volunteer team today and make a lasting impact in your community.

PLAY: Theater

A three-week exploration of devised theater

For ages 8-18 years old, a three-week immersive exploration of devised theatre technique and creative writing at Bethel Woods facilitated by the College of Performing Arts at the New School from NYC where participants research, brainstorm, improvise, and devise their own theatre piece around a student identified central question.

Collaborative work illuminates individual interests, abilities, and skill sets of each participant, which become the ingredients for the culminating piece. Last year participants contributed their interests, talents, and personal thoughts which evolved into a musical theater piece that incorporated singing, dancing, acrobatics, rap, scenes, monologues and visual art. Participants also have hands-on experiences building, painting and designing their own sets, lights, and costumes.

P.L.A.Y. Theater culminates in a collaborative, devised presentation that not only highlights the devised theater process but also unveils a brand new work created entirely by the participants!

  • Open House – Sunday, July 30
  • Program – Monday-Friday, July 31- August 18 from 9AM-4PM
  • Culminating Performance – Saturday, August 19

Because P.L.A.Y. programs are well-attended and popular in our community, attendance for the full range of program dates is expected.

P.L.A.Y. is a fee-based program. Registration fees are $350 per student per program. Tuition assistance is available based on financial need; please fill out the tuition assistance application on the registration form. You must upload documentation of proof of income that can include, but are not limited to, your most recent tax statement, recent pay stubs, or a stub from your most recent public assistance check. Maximum size per file is 3Mb. We also have transportation available if needed.

For more information, contact us at [email protected]

Showings

  • Sunday, July 30, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 31, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 1, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 2, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 3, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 4, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, August 7, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 8, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 9, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 10, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 11, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, August 14, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 15, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 16, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 17, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 18, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, August 19, 2017   --  9:00 AM Add to cal
View All Showings
  • Jul 30 - Aug 19 , 2017
  • Bethel Woods Center for Arts
  • $350 per participant
  • Buy Tickets Now
Close