An Afternoon with Axiom Brass Quintet

Part of PLAY: The Classics, presented in collaboration with Shandelee Music Festival
An Afternoon with Axiom Brass Quintet
  • September 22nd 2019 3:00pm
  • 2:00 PM Doors Open | 3:00 PM Show Time

  • Event Gallery
  • $37.50 General Seating | $17.00 Students 17 and under or with valid college ID

About the Show:

Praised for their “high level of musicality and technical ability” and for their “clean, clear and precise sound,” the award-winning Axiom Brass Quintet has quickly established itself as “one of the major art music groups in brass chamber music.” As the only Brass Quintet in 27 years to ever win the prestigious Chamber Music Yellow Springs Competition (2012), and the only American ensemble to ever win the Preis der Europa-Stadt Passau in Germany (2012), Axiom has also been named winners of the 2008 International Chamber Brass Competition and prize-winners of the 2016 M-Prize,  2010 Fischoff Chamber Music Competition, the Plowman Chamber Music Competition, and the Jeju City International Brass Quintet Competition in South Korea. Axiom Brass is dedicated to enhancing the musical life of communities across the globe and educating the next generation of musicians.

Axiom’s commitment to education and their blend of virtuosic performances and dynamic teaching have inspired young audiences around the nation, earning the ensemble the 2011 Fischoff Educator Award.  Their educational concert “Let’s Make Music” has captivated thousands of elementary and middle school students in the U.S.  Since 2011 the ensemble has been featured as brass quintet-in-residence for the National Brass Symposium, sharing the stage with principal brass players from the Chicago Symphony, Boston Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic and Atlanta Symphony.

Axiom Brass - Limitless Program

Artemis | Christopher Rouse (b. 1949)
L’amante modesto | Barbara Strozzi (1619-1677)
Le tre grazie a venere | (arr. Corey Sansolo)
Gli amanti falliti

Strata | David Sampson (b. 1951)
I. –
II. –
III. –


Contrapunctus III | J. S. Bach (1685-1750); (arr. Dorival Puccini, Jr.)
Laudes | Jan Bach (b. 1937)
I. Réveille
Particles and Waves | Mathew Fuerst (b. 1977)
Supernova | Mathew Fuerst
Celestial Suite | James M. Stephenson (b. 1969)
I. Copernicus: Earth vs. Sun
III. Newton
V. Hawking

About The Series:

Bethel Woods Center for the Arts, in collaboration with Shandelee Music Festival, is pleased to announce the third annual return of PLAY: The Classics in the magnificent Event Gallery at Bethel Woods. The goal of this series is to encourage and foster young talented emerging artists, help to build and cultivate a younger audience and increase attendance of all ages. Each concert is preceded by an enjoyable introduction to the music being performed, and followed by a specialty dessert reception where you will have the opportunity to relax, see friends and meet new acquaintances.

In addition to support from Bethel Woods Center for the Arts and the Shandelee Music Festival, P.L.A.Y. the Classics is funded in part by a gift from the Guenther Family and by a grant from the Rea Charitable Trust.