Volunteer527x376v3.jpg

Volunteer with Us!

Join our volunteer team today and make a lasting impact in your community.

Peter Max: Early Paintings

Selections from the Casterline Family Collection and the Fireman Family Collection

The Museum Re-Opens April 7th with the 2018 Special Exhibit, Peter Max: Early Paintings! Join us for Gallery Walks led by Bethel Woods Museum Director and Senior Curator Wade Lawrence at 12:00pm, 2:00pm & 4:00pm.


The art of Peter Max helped define the psychedelic 1960s, with its colorful imagery of gurus, sages, runners, flyers, Zen boats, snow-capped mountains, planets, stars, and sunbeams. His Cosmic posters were found in every college dorm room and in major museums across the globe.

Peter Max has stayed in the public eye through five decades, but visitors to The Museum at Bethel Woods will have a rare opportunity to see inspiring artwork from a pivital moment in the artist's illustrious career: the period from 1967 through 1972 when his work moved from nostalgic collage-inspired realistic paintings to his visionary, imaginative Cosmic creations.

Peter Max: Early Paintings brings together for the first time the collections of Robert Casterline and Shelly Fireman for a Peter Max experience that should not be missed. The exhibit will be on display through December 31st. 


Support for Peter Max: Early Paintings is provided by Bethel Woods Center for the Arts members and donors. General support for The Museum at Bethel Woods is provided by members and donors and by Lazy Pond Bed and Breakfast and Rolling V Bus Corporation. "Doors to Originality," a Peter Max-inspired exhibit to open June 2 on the grounds of Bethel Woods has been generously funded by Robyn Gerry.

Museum Hours are as follows: 

April 7-April 29:       Spring hours, Thursday-Sunday, 10am-5pm

April 30-Sept. 3:      Summer hours, 7 days a week, 10am-7pm

June 2:                    Museum’s 10th Anniversary

August 15-17:         Woodstock’s 49th Anniversary

September 3:          Labor Day - Museum open 10am-7pm

Sept. 4-Oct. 8:         Early fall hours, 7 days a week,10am-5pm

October 8:                Columbus Day - Museum open 10am-5pm

Oct. 9-Dec. 23:       Winter hours, open Thursday-Sunday, 10am-5pm

November 22:        Closed for Thanksgiving

Dec. 24-25:            Closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day

Dec. 26-31:            Home for Holidays Hours, Wednesday-Monday, 10am-5pm

Showings

  • Thursday, April 26, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, April 27, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, April 28, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, April 29, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, April 30, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, May 1, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, May 2, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, May 3, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, May 4, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, May 5, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, May 6, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, May 7, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, May 8, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, May 9, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, May 10, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, May 11, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, May 12, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, May 13, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, May 14, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, May 15, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, May 16, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, May 17, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, May 18, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, May 20, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, May 21, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, May 22, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, May 23, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, May 24, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, May 25, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, May 26, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, May 27, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, May 28, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, May 29, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, May 30, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, June 1, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, June 2, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, June 3, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, June 4, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, June 5, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, June 6, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, June 7, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, June 8, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, June 9, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, June 10, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, June 11, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, June 12, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, June 13, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, June 14, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, June 15, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, June 16, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, June 17, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, June 18, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, June 19, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, June 20, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, June 21, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, June 22, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, June 23, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, June 24, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, June 25, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, June 26, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, June 27, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, June 28, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, June 29, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, June 30, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, July 1, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 2, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, July 3, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, July 4, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, July 5, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, July 6, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, July 7, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, July 8, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 9, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, July 10, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, July 11, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, July 12, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, July 13, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, July 14, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 16, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, July 17, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, July 18, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, July 19, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, July 20, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, July 21, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, July 22, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 23, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, July 24, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, July 25, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, July 26, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, July 27, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, July 28, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, July 29, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, July 30, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, July 31, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 1, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 2, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 3, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, August 4, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, August 5, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, August 6, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 7, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 8, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 9, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 10, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, August 11, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, August 12, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, August 13, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 14, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 15, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 16, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 17, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, August 18, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, August 19, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, August 20, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 21, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 22, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 23, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 24, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, August 25, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, August 26, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, August 27, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, August 28, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, August 29, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, August 30, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, August 31, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, September 1, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, September 2, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, September 3, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, September 4, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, September 5, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, September 6, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, September 7, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, September 8, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, September 9, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, September 10, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, September 11, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, September 12, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, September 13, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, September 14, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, September 15, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, September 16, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, September 17, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, September 18, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, September 19, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, September 20, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, September 21, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, September 22, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, September 23, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, September 24, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, September 25, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, September 26, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, September 27, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, September 28, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, September 29, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, September 30, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, October 1, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Tuesday, October 2, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, October 3, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, October 4, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, October 5, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, October 6, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, October 7, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, October 8, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, October 11, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, October 12, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, October 13, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, October 14, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, October 18, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, October 19, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, October 20, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, October 21, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, October 25, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, October 26, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, October 27, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, October 28, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, November 1, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, November 2, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, November 3, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, November 4, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, November 8, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, November 9, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, November 10, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, November 11, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, November 15, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, November 16, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, November 18, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, November 23, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, November 24, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, November 25, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, November 29, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, November 30, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, December 1, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, December 2, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, December 6, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, December 7, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, December 8, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, December 9, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, December 13, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, December 14, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, December 15, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, December 16, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, December 20, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, December 21, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, December 22, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, December 23, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Wednesday, December 26, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Thursday, December 27, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Friday, December 28, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Saturday, December 29, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Sunday, December 30, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
  • Monday, December 31, 2018   --  10:00 AM Add to cal
View All Showings
  • Apr 7 - Dec 31 , 2018
  • Museum
  • Open During Regular Museum Hours
  • Included in regular museum admission. Special Exhibit only, $5.00

  • Buy Tickets Now